A disposable catering products manufacturing factory is situated in an approximately
632square meters one bay warehouse, in Alahun Osunba Estate, in the Kirikiri Industrial area of
The factory consists of:
• A 140KVA power generator.
• A borehole with a chlorinator water treatment unit and overhead Tank.
• A maximum demand meter connected to a dedicated transformer Feeder pillar. Regular
Electricity supply is above 90% in this location.
• A Distribution board which acts as the power house of the factory and where all the
circuits in the factory are controlled with their respective circuit breakers.
• 4 office Units
• 4 partitioned stores for finished products, raw materials, packaging materials,
• A paper Serviette manufacturing section with two paper serviette machines and one
modern sophisticated automatic serviette packaging machine.
The Serviette manufacturing section has the in-built capacity to run over 640kg of Jumbo in a
12-hour shift producing up to 400bags of serviette in a 12-hour work shift, 8,000 bags of
serviette in a 20-day month and 96,000 bags in a 12-month year.
The automatic packaging machine has the capacity to pack from 4 serviette making machines
giving room for future expansion of the plant.
• A straw manufacturing section with 3-straw machines, one straw paper wrapping
machine, one flexible straw making machine.
The straw manufacturing section has the in-built capacity to run up to 21bags of raffia in a 12-
hour shift producing over 700bags of straw in a 12-hour shift day and over 14,000 bags of straw
in a month and 168,000 bags of straw in a year.
The paper straw wrapping machine has the in-built capacity to produce over 10bags of
wrapped straw in a 12hour shift, 200bags in a 20day month and 2400 bags in a 12month year.
At present all the machines are producing at over 90% of the installed capacity.
The current cost of Jumbo 100% pulp is approximately N625/kg. Each bag of Serviette weighs
With the in-built capacity, the serviette plant can consume approximately 12,800kg (12.8MT) of
Jumbo in a 12hour shift, 20day working month. Producing an average of 8000bags of serviette
in a month.
Jumbo @ current market price 0f N625/kg for 12,800kg = N8,000,000
Packaging material cost works out at – N150/bag (for 8000bags/month) = N1,200,000
Final bags @ 38/bag (for 8000bags/month) = N304000
TOTAL MATERIAL COST/MONTH SERVIETTE = N9,504,000/month
Wholesale price for serviette – 1650/bag for 8,000 bags = N13,200,000
Annual turnover Serviette =N158,400,000
Gross monthly profit margin = N3,696,000.
Annual Gross Profit Margin = N44,352,000
PP Raffia current market price = N14,375/25kg-bag @ 420bags/month producing 14,000 bags of
straw/month = N6,037,500
Pp film packaging for Raffia @ N86/bag of straw @ 14000 bags/month = N1,204,000
Final bags straw @ N22/bag of straw & 14000bags = N308,000
Masterbatch/ month = N10,000
TOTAL RAW MATERIAL COST = N7,559,500
Wholesale price for straw – 900/bag for 14000 = 12,600,000
Annual turnover Drinking Straws - 113,400,000
Gross Profit Margin/month - = N6,562,500
Annual Gross profit Margin X 9months* = N59,062,500
*Straw business is seasonal with minimal sales during the rainy season. An astute marketer can
however make the rainy season work by garnering more markets.
Produced from already produced straws
Bible paper used
Bible paper = N1500/bag
20 bags of wrapped straw are produced/bag of raffia
@10bags/ day = 200bags/month
Cost of pp raffia (10 bags/month) = N143750
Cost of Bible Paper @1500/bag of wrapped straw/month = N300,000
TOTAL RAW MATERIAL COST/MONTH = N443,750
Annual total Raw material cost = N5,325,000
Cost of wrapped straws/bag wholesale price = N4700
For one month = 4700x 200 = N940,000
Annual turnover wrapped straw = N11,280,000
Annual Gross Profit Wrapped Straw x 12months = N11,280,000 – N5,325,000 = N5,955,000
Annual Gross turnover - N283,080,000
Annual Gross Profit Margin Serviette = N44,352,000
Annual Gross Profit Margin Straw X 9months = N59,062,500
Annual Gross Profit Wrapped Straw x 12months = N5,955,000
GRAND TOTAL gross profit 1+2+3 = N109, 369,500
ANNUAL OVERHEAD COST (This is an up-scaled estimate)
PERSONNEL COSTS @ 1,200,000/MONTH FOR 20 STAFF X 12 MONTHS = N14,400,000
ENERGY (EKEDP + DIESEL) @ 250,000/MONTH = N3,000,000
REPAIR & MAINTAINANCE (GENERATOR, VEHICLES, MACHINERY)/ANNUM =
SALES EXPENSES (Vehicle Parking Expenses, fueling of vehicle etc.)/Annum = N1,296,000
COMMUNICATION = N480,000
Grand Total = N26,026,000.
PROFIT BEFORE TAX =N109,369,500- 26,026,000 = N83,343,500
ASKING PRICE: *N100,000,000 (ONE HUNDRED MILLION NAIRA ONLY)